THE ZOOLOGICAL SOCIETY, KOLKATA



35 BALLYGUNGE CIRCULAR ROAD, KOLKATA-700 019

Phone: 9830951744 (M)

e-mail: zoolsockol@gmail.com / zoolsocietykol@gmail.com

website: www.zskol.org

$\begin{array}{c} \textbf{Proposal Form for the} \\ \textbf{FELLOWSHIP OF THE ZOOLOGICAL SOCIETY, CALCUTTA} \ (FZS,\ Cal.) \end{array}$

Nomination for the year.....

To be filled up by	the Proposer			
(In Block Le	etters)]		ip	
(c) Official des	ignation			
(d) Society's M	lember since (Categor	ry)		
(e) Date of Birt	h			
(f) Academic q	ualification			
Degrees	University	Year	Subject	Class & Distinction
Bachelor				
Master				
Doctorate				
Post Doctoral				
(g) Field of Int	erest & Research Spec	cialisation		
(h) List of Pub	lications: Total No.:	National	: Internation	al:
•	ch a separate sheet st publication and / or	- L	n details and submit re	prints of ten (10)
(i) Scientific A	ttainments :			
(j) Awards, Pri	zes, Medals etc.:			
2. Name of the Proposer				
3. Name of the Se (In Block Letter				
Signature of th	e Seconder		Date	
4. Name of the So (In Block Letter				
Signature of th	e Seconder		Date	

- (a) The outstanding Naturalists, Promoters of the Society, Life Members, Ordinary Members are eligible to be admitted to Fellowship.
- (b) The proposer and seconder must be fellow of The Zoological Society, Kolkata.

THE ZOOLOGICAL SOCIETY, KOLKATA



35 BALLYGUNGE CIRCULAR ROAD, KOLKATA-700 019

Phone: 9830951744 (M)

e-mail: zoolsockol@gmail.com / zoolsocietykol@gmail.com

website: www.zskol.org

RULES FOR FELLOWSHIP SELECTION

Award of fellowships: The Society offers Fellowships to the distinguished scientists as a mark of recognition for their scientific contributions in the field of natural sciences. Distinguished foreign zoologists and senior outstanding zoologists of the country are also awarded with Honorary Fellowship of the Society. At present, the Society has 31 Foreign Fellows, which includes Prof. K. Vickerman, Prof. Sir B K. Follett, Prof. H. A. Bern, Prof. C. Gans, Prof. H. Kobayashi, Prof. S. W. Karmichael, Prof. P. J. Sharp etc., 4 Honorary National Fellows includes Prof. Hiralal Chaudhuri, Prof. J. P. Thapliyal, Prof. Sujit Dasgupta and Prof. Sushil Kr. Dutta.

- 1. The Society shall award Fellowships to persons in recognition of their erudition, scholarship and services rendered to the Society/Country.
- 2. The fellows shall be elected by the Fellowship Committee consisting of (i) the President, (ii) General Secretary of the Society and (iii) three other persons to be nominated by the Executive Council each year who may not necessarily, be members of the Society. The Committee shall be generally guided by the academic standing of the candidates at the time of election of Fellows.
- 3. The Past Presidents and General Secretaries of the Society shall be declared as its fellows ex-officio, provided they continue their membership (and pay the admission fee). Only life members are eligible to be admitted to fellowship.
- 4. The name of the fellows shall be proposed by an **existing fellow** and seconded by **two** other fellows of the society on the prescribed form to be supplied by the Society on request. It is imperative that before proposing a name for fellowship the proposer shall get his/her consent to fulfill the obligations. The form shall contain the following points to be filled by the proposer: (1) Full Name (2) Date of birth (3) Academic qualifications, (4) Field of interest, (5) List of publications with **copies of 10 best career publications and or documents of scientific attainments.**
- **5.** There shall be fellows of three categories :
 - (a) Fellows elected from among the persons mentioned in Section 3 shall pay an admission fee of **Rs.5,000/-** (Rupees Five thousand) only.
 - (b) Honorary National Fellows shall be only from **distinguished zoologists of the country.**
 - (c) Honorary Foreign Fellows shall be from amongst the reputed **Biologists** of foreign countries.
- 6. Each year not more than 10 fellows are to be elected from 3 categories -
- 7. The names of persons recommended by the Fellowship Committee shall be approved by the Executive Council.
- **8.** At the Annual general meeting, the persons elected and nominated will be conferred with the Fellowship of the Society by the President/Chairman of the meeting.
- 9. The fellows of all the categories are eligible to use FZS (Cal.) after their names.
- 10. The nomination form is to be **submitted by the proposer on or before 30th November each year** and the Fellowship Committee shall meet in the month of December each year to consider the applications.
- 11. The nomination form for the Honorary Fellows and Honorary National Fellows can be submitted by the proposer within 30th November of every year.